Grossman Ensemble

The Grossman Ensemble, hailed as having “some of the best contemporary players in the city” (Chicago Reader) with performances that have “filled the evening with wonder and, at times, awe” (Third Coast Review), is the resident supergroup at the Chicago Center for Contemporary Composition. The Ensemble comprises musicians of the highest caliber whose passion is to perform music with a sensitive understanding, meticulous preparation, and abundant rehearsal time. World premiere works are developed over several weeks, during a series of unique workshopping rehearsals that focus on the interaction between composers, musicians, and conductors. This process allows the music time to grow in the mind of the composer and to fully inhabit the minds of the players.

The Ensemble is a key component of the CCCC’s performance series, preparing and performing 12 world premiere works by University of Chicago faculty, students, and guest composers each season. In August 2020, Fountain of Time, the ensemble’s debut album was released on the Center’s imprint, CCCC Records. The album features five premiere performances from the ensemble’s first two seasons by composers Shulamit Ran, Anthony Cheung, David Dzubay, Tonia Ko, and David Clay Mettens. I CARE IF YOU LISTEN said the album shows the Ensemble's "wonderful promise as a group in addition to promoting the rare process they employ in inviting composers and conductors to participate in the rehearsal and workshop process.”

The Grossman Ensemble is made possible by generous support from the Sanford J. Grossman Charitable Trust.

This Grossman Ensemble has premiered and/or recorded works by:

Ashkan Behzadi  •  Gregory Beyer*  •  Eliza Brown  •  Rodrigo Bussad  •  Anthony Cheung  •  Zosha Di Castri  •  Frédéric Durieux  •  David Dzubay  •  Jason Eckardt  •  Pierce Gradone  •  Erin Gee*  •  Baldwin Giang  •  Martha Horst  •  Jack Hughes  •  Alison Yun-Fei Jiang  •  Tonia Ko  •  Felipe Lara*  •  Ingrid Laubrock  •  Dongryul Lee  •  Joungbum Lee  •  Steve Lehman  •  Tania León  •  George Lewis*  •  David Ludwig*  •  Paula Matthusen  •  David Clay Mettens  •  Will Myers  •  Eric Nathan  •  James Newton*  •  Daniel Pesca  •  Sam Pluta  •  David Rakowski  •  Shulamit Ran  •  Kurt Rhode  •  Carlos Sanchez-Gutierrez  •  Ana Sokolovic*  •  Kate Soper  •  Stephen A. Taylor  •  Felipe Tovar-Henao  •  Christopher Trapani  •  Amy Williams  •  LJ White  •  Krzysztof Wołek  •  Chen Yi  •  Jay Alan Yim  •  Du Yun

*Indicates that the premiere will occur in an upcoming season

Get to know the Grossman Ensemble

We interviewed members of the Grossman Ensemble to learn more about their passions, musical backgrounds, and experiences with the ensemble. Click here to learn more about each of the musicians in the CCCC resident ensemble.